On Oct. 1, 2026, most of what decides a family’s New Year’s Eve in Dubai has not been published yet.
- Not yet announced: Emaar’s plan for Downtown, RTA’s Metro hours and the road closures. Last year the Metro hours and road closures appeared in the final week of December.
- Already on sale: hotel dinners with a Burj Khalifa view, and the Atlantis gala, with prices.
- Already announced: Global Village’s new season dates.
So this page does three things.
- It lists what is confirmed for Dec. 31, 2026.
- It sets out how the night worked in 2025-26, clearly labelled as last year’s arrangement, so you can see the pattern.
- It names what to check, and when.
For a family, the fireworks are the easy part. The decisions that matter are where you stand, what you pay, when you arrive and how you get children back to a hotel after midnight, when roads around the Burj Khalifa may still be closed.
Every fact carries a label. 2026-27 means confirmed for this year. 2025-26 means last year’s rule, which may change. Not announced means nobody has published it yet. Prices are in UAE dirhams (AED) and come from the operator’s own page, read Oct. 1, 2026, unless marked otherwise. As each item is published, we will move it to 2026-27 and change the review date at the foot of this page.
What is set for Dec. 31, 2026, and what is not
Dec. 31, 2026 falls on a Thursday.
| Item | Status on Oct. 1, 2026 | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Burj Khalifa fireworks and Downtown plan | Not announced. Emaar’s New Year site still shows the 2025-26 event | Emaar |
| Burj Park tickets | Not announced. 2025-26 prices below | Emaar |
| Free viewing areas in Downtown | Not announced. 2025-26 zones below | Emaar |
| City-wide fireworks list | Not announced | None official |
| Metro, tram and bus hours | Not announced. RTA’s 2025-26 hours were reported on Dec. 29, 2025, and road closures on Dec. 30 and 31 | RTA, via the press |
| Road closures and parking | Not announced | RTA, via the press |
| Hotel dinners with a Burj Khalifa view | On sale, 2026-27 prices published | Address, Palace, Vida, At.mosphere |
| Atlantis The Palm gala | On sale, 2026-27 prices published | Atlantis |
| Global Village Season 31 | Dates published: Oct. 14, 2026 to May 2027. Tickets and New Year programme not announced | Global Village |
| Burj Al Arab | Closed for restoration until October 2027 | What’s On (secondary) |
The rest of this page follows that split. Anything you can book today is marked 2026-27. Anything you can only plan around is marked 2025-26.
Ways to watch, side by side
| Option | Viewing cost | Booking | Food | For a family | Getting home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free area in Downtown (2025-26 rules) | AED 0 | None in 2025-26: “No tickets or badges required” | Your own food and soft drinks were allowed in 2025-26 | Early arrival, no reserved spot, family zones | On foot to a station or shuttle |
| Burj Park (ticketed; 2025-26 rules) | AED 997.50 adult, AED 577.50 child 5 to 12, in 2025-26 | Ticket plus a badge collected before Dec. 31 | Food trucks at extra cost | Enclosed site, washrooms, kids’ workshops; no re-entry | As for free areas |
| Restaurant or hotel dinner with a view | Listed prices from AED 1,200 to AED 7,800 this year, unit not always stated, plus children | Advance booking, often 100% prepaid | Included | A seat and a table; child pricing varies | Depends on badges and closures |
| Elsewhere: Global Village, the Palm, the beaches | Gate price or gala ticket | Varies | Varies | Away from the Downtown crush | Different roads, different queues |
There is no single best answer. A family with a toddler and a family with two teenagers will choose differently. The sections below give what you need to compare them.
Free viewing in Downtown: how it worked in 2025-26
Label: 2025-26. Emaar runs the Downtown event. Its public page for last year said the free areas were first come, first served, and “No tickets or badges required”. Large screens ran along Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Boulevard. “Food and non-alcoholic beverages are allowed in the public viewing areas.”
Family and bachelor zones. Emaar’s event plan split the free space. The family zones were South Ridge, ACT (1) and ACT (2), the Outer Boulevard, Old Town and Cascade Garden. Five other zones were labelled “Bachelor”. If the 2026-27 plan does the same, aim for a family zone and check the zoning map when Emaar publishes it.
What else the plan listed:
- Washrooms: at Burj Vista, Burj Park, South Ridge Park, Burj Plaza and some Boulevard staircases.
- Prayer rooms: at the Boulevard staircases.
- Strollers: “Using baby strollers in crowded areas” was on the prohibited list. That is not a ban on every pushchair, but a dense crowd is exactly where you will be.
- Help lines: 800-DTCC for security and 800-EMAAR for general questions.
The catch with “free”. Free meant no ticket, not easy access. Celebrations started from 5 p.m., and roads began closing “as early as 4 PM”. A family arriving late may find the roads shut and the best spots taken. For how Downtown’s Boulevard, mall and fountain fit together, see our page on the district before you pick a spot.
Burj Park: the ticketed area
Label: 2025-26. Burj Park is the paid enclosure beside the tower. Prices for 2026-27 are not announced.
| Detail | 2025-26 rule |
|---|---|
| Adult ticket | AED 997.50 including VAT |
| Child 5 to 12 | AED 577.50 including VAT |
| Under 5 | Free, “however, a ticket must still be booked” and a badge collected |
| Badge collection | Dec. 26 to 30, at The Dubai Mall or Dubai Hills Mall. “No badge collection or validation on 31 December” |
| Gates | Open from noon; entertainment from 5 p.m. Emaar’s FAQ advised arriving by 2 p.m. |
| Re-entry | “Once you leave Burj Park, re-entry is not allowed” |
| Under-18s | Must be with “a responsible older individual with a valid ticket” |
| Refunds | Non-refundable and non-transferable |
| Included | “Guaranteed, uninterrupted views”, live entertainment, kids’ workshops, food trucks (food at extra cost) |
| Not allowed | Outside food and drink “(except for necessary baby items)”, glass, pets, laser pointers, professional photography equipment, among others |
What this means for a family.
- You must be in Dubai by Dec. 30 if the badge rule repeats. A family landing on Dec. 31 could not collect one last year.
- No re-entry, if it repeats, means once inside you stay from early afternoon to after midnight. Pack for 10 or more hours.
- The cost for a family of four (two adults, a 9-year-old and a 4-year-old) at 2025-26 prices: 997.50 + 997.50 + 577.50 + 0 = AED 2,572.50. This is last year’s figure, shown for scale only.
For the tower itself on other days, see visiting the observation decks with children.
Beyond Downtown
Global Village (2026-27 season confirmed, New Year programme not). Season 31 runs from Oct. 14, 2026 to May 2027. Published hours are 4 p.m. to midnight Sunday to Wednesday, and 4 p.m. to 1 a.m. Thursday to Saturday and on public holidays. “Season 31 tickets will be available later this year.”
In 2025-26, according to What’s On, Global Village scheduled seven countdowns, each with fireworks and a drone show:
- China at 8 p.m.;
- Thailand at 9 p.m.;
- Bangladesh at 10 p.m.;
- India at 10:30 p.m.;
- Pakistan at 11 p.m.;
- Dubai at midnight;
- Turkey at 1 a.m.
What’s On said it would open from 4 p.m. to 2 a.m., with the whole night included in the entry ticket. The India countdown at 10:30 p.m. Dubai time was midnight in India, so a family could mark Indian New Year with children before they tired. None of this is confirmed for 2026-27. See Season 31’s opening and closing dates and what the park offers on an ordinary evening.
Family-only beaches (2025-26). What’s On reported that Dubai Municipality opened Jumeirah Beach 2, Jumeirah Beach 3 and Umm Suqeim Beach 1, plus a fourth Umm Suqeim beach, “exclusively to families” on Dec. 31, 2025 and Jan. 1, 2026. It was announced on Dec. 30. No source says which fireworks are visible from them. For Jumeirah and Umm Suqeim’s public sand, see our beaches page.
Atlantis The Palm (2026-27, on sale). The Under the Stars Gala Dinner on the Palm has Katy Perry as headliner. Atlantis’s own page lists, by age band: Premium Seating AED 8,500 (14 and over), AED 6,500 (4 to 13), free for 0 to 3; Rouge Circle AED 10,500, AED 7,500 and free on the same bands; Golden Circle AED 14,500 (14 and over) and AED 8,500 (0 to 13), with no free band. Tax basis and start time are not stated.
Atlantis is a paid, seated alternative to Downtown, with its own fireworks from the resort, according to What’s On, which also reported a 6 p.m. start. Atlantis’s page says “children of all ages are welcome at the Gala”. For reaching the Palm’s far end and back, plan the return before booking.
Other displays. What’s On counted dozens of fireworks sites in 2025-26, including Dubai Festival City, Al Seef, Expo City Dubai, Dubai Frame, Bluewaters, Dubai Parks and Resorts and Hatta. Its own count differed: 40 locations in the headline, 48 displays in the text. The 2026-27 list is not announced. Burj Al Arab was on last year’s list but is closed until October 2027.
What dinner with a view costs this year
Label: 2026-27. These are the published New Year’s Eve prices for Downtown hotels and restaurants, read Oct. 1, 2026. None of these pages says whether VAT, the service charge or the municipality fee is included.
| Venue | Price as listed | Unit stated | Children | Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Address Dubai Mall, The Tea Lounge | Indoor AED 1,200 (soft drinks) or 1,700 (house drinks); outdoor AED 2,200 or 2,900 | Not stated | Not stated | 7 p.m. to 1:30 a.m. |
| Address Dubai Mall, Solara | Indoor AED 2,800 or 3,600; terrace AED 4,500 (the page shows the same figure for both drinks packages); pool deck AED 5,900 to 7,800 | Not stated | Not stated | 7 p.m. to 1:30 a.m. |
| Vida Dubai Mall, terrace | AED 1,999 (no alcohol), 2,999 or 3,999; Kids Package AED 1,299 | Per adult; Kids Package per child | Kids Package, no age range given | 8 p.m. to 1 a.m. |
| At.mosphere, Burj Khalifa level 122 | Minimum spend AED 3,000 (window table) or AED 2,000 (other tables) | Per person | Not mentioned | 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. |
| Palace Downtown | Al Bayt from AED 2,595 indoor; Ewaan AED 2,995 indoor, 4,095 outdoor; Thiptara AED 3,995 indoor; Buhayra from AED 4,995 outdoor; Viewing Deck from AED 6,500 | Per person or per adult | 50% off at Ewaan (outdoors), Thiptara and Buhayra; no age band given | 7 p.m. to 1:30 or 2 a.m. |
| Address Sky View | Patisserie AED 2,600; Deck Too AED 3,800; Alto 54 AED 4,500 or 6,000 | Per person | Not stated | Not retrieved |
| Address Downtown | Cetara AED 5,500 (soft) or 6,500; The Garden AED 6,500 (soft) or 7,500 | Not stated | 0 to 5 free; 6 to 12 half price | 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. |
Read the terms, not just the number.
- Payment. The Address Downtown, Address Dubai Mall and Palace Downtown pages say “100% advance booking is required”. Address Sky View says “Full payment or a deposit may be required to confirm reservations”. At.mosphere says “Full payment required.”
- Confirmation. The same three pages add that a booking counts only once the hotel sends its own confirmation email.
- Child rules do not travel between hotels. Address Downtown’s rule (ages 0 to 5 free, 6 to 12 at 50% off) is that hotel’s alone. Palace Downtown gives 50% off with no age band, and three of the pages say nothing about children. Ask each venue in writing.
- A minimum spend is not a menu price. At.mosphere’s AED 2,000 is the least each person must spend; the bill can be higher.
A cheaper tier existed last year (2025-26, secondary). What’s On listed minimum spends of about AED 300 to AED 500 at venues in and around Downtown, not always with a unit. BohoX, for example, set AED 400 per person outdoors, AED 300 indoors or for teenagers aged 13 to 17 and AED 200 for children aged 6 to 12. It also handed out wristbands in advance. Those are last year’s figures. Last year these offers were reported in December.
What sits on top of the price
Dubai bills can carry several layers. None of this year’s New Year pages states which are included, so ask.
| Layer | Rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| VAT | 5% | UAE VAT law |
| Service charge | Capped at 10% of the bill; a ceiling, not a required charge | Executive Council Resolution 48 of 2014 |
| Municipality fee on hotel sales | 7% | Decree 27 of 2019 |
| Tourism Dirham (rooms only) | AED 7 to 20 per room per night, by hotel category | u.ae |
| 2026 exemption | On May 21, 2026, Dubai announced it would stop collecting the Tourism Dirham and “the sales fees on hotel rooms and restaurants”. It gave no dates | Dubai Media Office |
What to ask, in writing: “Is this price inclusive of service charge, municipality fee and VAT?” We are not adding these into one percentage, because nobody has said which apply on Dec. 31, 2026. For fees that turn a quoted price into a bigger bill across a whole trip, see our charges page.
Hotels: room, dinner and access are three different things
1. A room does not include the dinner. Of the pages we read, only Atlantis says staying guests must buy one: “if you’re planning a stay at Atlantis, The Palm or Atlantis The Royal over New Year’s Eve, you must choose between the Gala or one of our restaurant experiences.” It adds, “Minimum length of stay applies”, without saying how many nights. The Downtown Address, Palace and Vida pages we read say nothing either way about a compulsory dinner or minimum stay. Ask when you book the room.
2. A room does not include the view. Label: 2025-26. Emaar’s hotel page said hotel guests needed badges and wristbands to move around Downtown, but “badge access is only valid for accessing your respective hotel and does not apply to other paid or reserved venues.” Staying at a Downtown hotel did not get you into Burj Park or the Dubai Mall promenade.
3. A dinner booking needs its own badge. Label: 2025-26.
- Restaurant guests had to “collect their badges and wristbands ahead of time (before December 30th)”.
- “Badges are required to pass security checkpoints and access restricted areas near Burj Khalifa and Dubai Fountain.”
- “Lost badges cannot be replaced.”
- “Only diners with confirmed bookings and badges/wristbands” could reach the Dubai Mall promenade.
The collection deadline differed between Emaar’s pages (11 p.m., 10 p.m. or 6 p.m. on Dec. 30), so follow the time your venue gives you.
4. A badge does not get your car in. Label: 2025-26. “Badges do not grant priority vehicle access after road closures.”
The upside of a Downtown room. You can walk back after midnight while others queue. For a family with small children, that may be worth more than the view. Check occupancy limits when a family shares one room before booking a room for four over New Year, and compare neighbourhoods for a December base if Downtown rates are out of reach.
Example bills for a family of four
Two adults, a 9-year-old and a 4-year-old. Prices as listed, with taxes unknown.
| Plan | Workings | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Vida Dubai Mall, no-alcohol package | 2 × 1,999 + 2 × 1,299 (Kids Package; no age range given, so confirm both children qualify) | AED 6,596 |
| Address Downtown, Cetara, soft drinks | 2 × 5,500 + 4-year-old free + 9-year-old at half price (2,750). The page does not say the price is per person; this assumes it is | AED 13,750 |
| Atlantis gala, Premium Seating | 2 × 8,500 + 2 × 6,500 (ages 4 to 13) | AED 30,000 |
| Burj Park, for scale (2025-26 prices) | 2 × 997.50 + 577.50 + under-5 free | AED 2,572.50 including VAT, before food |
Two points change these numbers sharply.
- Age. At Atlantis, a 3-year-old is free in Premium Seating and Rouge Circle, but Golden Circle charges AED 8,500 for every child up to 13. At Address Downtown, a 5-year-old eats free and a 6-year-old pays half.
- Tax basis. If a price excludes service charge and fees, the bill rises. Ask before paying.
A free zone costs nothing to enter. Your spending there is the food you carry and the transport home. For keeping a Dubai trip’s overall cost down, the free option is the obvious lever.
Getting there: the 2025-26 pattern
Label: 2025-26, mainly from Gulf News and Khaleej Times reporting RTA and Dubai Police; items from Emaar’s event guide are named as such. RTA’s own pages could not be read by our tools. The 2026-27 plan will be different in detail.
Roads closed around Downtown on Dec. 31, 2025:
| Time | Roads |
|---|---|
| 4 p.m. | Al Asayel Street, Al Mustaqbal Street, Lower Financial Centre Road, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Boulevard, Burj Khalifa Street |
| 8 p.m. | One further street (the two papers named different streets) |
| 9 p.m. | Upper Financial Centre Road |
| 11 p.m. | Gradual closure of Sheikh Zayed Road between the Al Meydan intersection and the Commercial Centre roundabout |
Gulf News suggested Al Khail Road, Al Meydan Street and Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Road as alternatives.
Metro. The Red and Green lines ran nonstop from 5 a.m. on Dec. 31 to 11:59 p.m. on Jan. 1, about 43 hours, according to both papers. Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall station could close from 5 p.m. if it reached capacity. Gulf News named Financial Centre, Business Bay, Emirates Towers and World Trade Centre as the alternatives. Get station-to-door walking times around Downtown before the night, and load each family member’s nol card ahead of the 31st to avoid ticket-machine queues.
Tram. The papers disagree on the hours, so we give none. Wait for RTA’s announcement.
Buses and shuttles. Gulf News reported free buses from Swissotel Al Murooj to Al Wasl Club and Al Kifaf from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m., and shuttles from parking areas to Metro stations after the fireworks. Emaar’s guide listed shuttles from Al Wasl Club and Al Meydan from 4 p.m., with the last pick-up for Downtown at 11 p.m. and returns from 12:30 a.m., and told badge holders to keep their badges for the return shuttle.
Taxis. Emaar’s public page said taxis could reach Downtown until the road closures. After that, no vehicles were let in.
Parking. Emaar listed public car parks at The Dubai Mall and the Boulevard, first come, first served, with “no vehicles” allowed in after closures began. RTA’s free parking applied on Jan. 1, not on Dec. 31, and excluded multi-storey car parks and Al Khail Gate (N-365). In 2025-26 RTA also warned, via Khaleej Times, that stopping or parking on a highway shoulder to watch the fireworks was prohibited.
Scale. RTA reported 2,836,859 trips across public transport, taxis and other services on the night, including 1,249,636 on the Metro.
Flying out that night. In 2025-26 Emirates advised arriving four hours before departure, and Dubai’s Event Security Committee warned that road closures could slow the trip to the airport. If your flight is on Dec. 31 or Jan. 1, plan around that.
Leaving after midnight with children
This is the part families underestimate. In 2025-26 Khaleej Times’ live blog logged Sheikh Zayed Road reopening at 1:19 a.m., but no source gives a reopening time for the Downtown roads or for Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall station. Assume you will walk, and wait.
| Your plan | What it involves | Backup |
|---|---|---|
| Downtown hotel | Walk back inside the closed zone. In 2025-26 a hotel badge covered your own hotel only | None needed, if your hotel is reachable on foot |
| Metro | Walk out of Downtown to a station further along the line, then queue | Wait an hour inside a café or mall exit before heading out |
| Shuttle to a car park | Last year’s return shuttles started at 12:30 a.m. and needed a badge | Metro from the stop where the shuttle leaves you |
| Taxi | In 2025-26 no cars were let inside the closure. Walk out first, then queue or book | Metro, or wait until the roads reopen |
| Own car | Parked inside before closures, you leave only when the roads open | Leave the car and return for it on Jan. 1 |
For a toddler or a stroller. A carrier is easier than a pushchair in a crowd moving to a station. If you bring a stroller, expect to fold it on stairs and in queues; see taking a pushchair through Dubai’s crowds. Sort out child seats and booking a cab with children before the night, not at 1 a.m.
Our advice: pick a meeting point you can all find in the dark, away from the crowd’s main flow, and agree a time to give up on the original plan. Our comparison of when a train beats a cab on an ordinary evening holds for the rest of the trip, but New Year’s Eve is not an ordinary evening.
Children on the night
Lost children (2025-26). Dubai’s Event Security Committee set up support tents at the main venues. According to Gulf News, they offered “lost-and-found services” and served as meeting points, “particularly for lost children”. Call 999 in an emergency and 901 for police help that is not an emergency.
Our advice, not a rule:
- Write a parent’s mobile number on each young child’s arm or on a card in a pocket.
- Take a photo of each child that evening, showing what they are wearing.
- Agree with older children where to go if separated.
- Keep phones charged, with a power bank. A local data connection on every phone lets each of you call or message without hunting for Wi-Fi.
- If a phone does go missing in the crowd, here is what to do about a lost phone or passport.
Food, water and washrooms. The free zones allowed food and soft drinks last year; Burj Park did not, except for baby items. Washrooms existed in both; expect queues. Carry water, snacks and a layer for later in the night. Check December evening temperatures for the clothes to pack.
Very young children. Seven or more hours in a crowd, then a late walk, is a lot for a child under three. Read how much a late night asks of a baby or toddler before choosing a free zone over a seated dinner.
Sample plans by family situation
These are editorial suggestions built on the facts above. Re-check each step against the 2026-27 announcements.
1. Budget-conscious family.
- Go to Global Village in the late afternoon if it again holds early countdowns. The India countdown at 10:30 p.m. Dubai time was last year’s schedule.
- Return to your hotel before midnight, away from Downtown.
- Cost: the gate price and transport. Season 31 prices are not announced.
2. Family with young children.
- Book a seated dinner with a view now, at a venue whose child policy you have in writing.
- Get a badge if the 2026-27 rules require one, and be in Dubai by the collection deadline.
- Stay at or near the venue, or accept a long wait before leaving.
3. Family staying in Downtown.
- Use the room as a base: rest in the afternoon, go out to a free family zone or your booked venue before the closures.
- Walk back after midnight.
- Confirm with the hotel what its badge covers and when to collect it.
4. Family staying outside Downtown.
- Either arrive before the road closures (4 p.m. last year) and commit to the whole evening, or choose a venue near your hotel.
- Plan the Metro route home from a station other than Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall.
- Keep a taxi booking or a hotel phone number as the fallback.
What to book or confirm, and when
| When | What | Label |
|---|---|---|
| Now (October) | Hotel and restaurant dinners with a view; the Atlantis gala; your room. Read the child, tax and payment terms | 2026-27 |
| From mid-November | Check Emaar’s New Year site for Burj Park tickets, free zones and badge rules. In 2025-26 Burj Park tickets were still unreleased on Nov. 17 | Pattern from 2025-26 |
| November and December | Global Village Season 31 tickets and any New Year programme; restaurant minimum-spend offers (reported in December last year) | Not announced |
| Dec. 26 to 30 | In 2025-26, the badge collection window. Be in Dubai by then if the rule repeats | 2025-26 |
| Last week of December | RTA hours, road closures, parking, shuttles; Dubai Police guidance | Not announced |
| Dec. 31 | Arrive before the closures; carry badges, ID, booking confirmation and the hotel’s address | Both |
Other dates to plan around sit on our calendar of the winter events that run alongside New Year.
Mistakes that wreck the night
- Arriving at 10 p.m. because the fireworks are at midnight. Last year roads began closing at 4 p.m.
- Taking “free” to mean easy. Free areas fill, and there is no reserved spot.
- Assuming a room includes the view. In 2025-26 a hotel badge covered only that hotel.
- Arriving on Dec. 31 with a dinner booking. Last year badges had to be collected by Dec. 30, and none were issued on the day.
- Assuming one hotel’s child policy applies everywhere. Ages and discounts differ by venue.
- Not asking about taxes. No New Year’s Eve page we read states its tax basis.
- Planning a taxi from the fireworks. Last year cars could not get in after the closures.
- Planning only until midnight. The hour after is the hardest part with children.
- Treating last year’s times as this year’s. Wait for RTA and Emaar.
What families ask before Dec. 31
Can families watch the Burj Khalifa fireworks for free?
In 2025-26, yes, from free areas along the Boulevard with “No tickets or badges required”, including family zones. The 2026-27 arrangement is not announced.
Which areas are ticketed?
Burj Park was the ticketed enclosure in 2025-26, at AED 997.50 per adult and AED 577.50 per child aged 5 to 12. Restaurant and hotel venues are paid separately.
What time should a family reach Downtown?
Last year roads began closing at 4 p.m., and Emaar told Burj Park ticket holders to arrive by 2 p.m. Plan on early afternoon until this year’s plan is out.
Does the Metro run after midnight?
In 2025-26 the Red and Green lines ran nonstop for about 43 hours, from 5 a.m. on Dec. 31. RTA has not announced 2026-27 hours.
Can taxis enter Downtown after the roads close?
In 2025-26, no. Taxis could reach the area only until closures began.
How do we get back after the fireworks?
On last year’s pattern, walk out of the closed area to a station other than Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall, or to a shuttle or taxi point, and expect to queue. A hotel inside Downtown avoids this.
Are New Year’s Eve restaurants more expensive?
The published 2026-27 Downtown hotel prices run from AED 1,200 to AED 7,800 as listed, plus children. Some pages do not say whether a price is per person, and none states its tax basis.
What does minimum spend mean?
The least each guest must spend, for example AED 2,000 per person at At.mosphere’s non-window tables. It is not a fixed menu.
Do hotels charge extra on New Year’s Eve?
Atlantis requires staying guests to choose its gala or a restaurant, with a minimum stay. The Downtown hotel pages we read do not say either way. Ask before booking the room.
Can children attend restaurant events?
Four of the seven venue pages we read price children, from free at Address Downtown for under-6s to AED 8,500 in the Atlantis gala’s Golden Circle. At.mosphere’s page does not mention children. Ask.
Is Downtown practical with young children?
It is possible, but long. Expect several hours in a crowd and a late walk out. Last year strollers were also restricted in crowded areas. A seated venue or a Downtown room is easier.
What should families carry?
Water, snacks, a warm layer, charged phones and a power bank, any badges, ID, the booking confirmation, the hotel’s address and each child’s emergency contact.
Disclosure: we sell December family departures to Dubai. Whoever you book with, Trekhops included, ask in writing which hotel suits the children’s ages, whether its New Year dinner is compulsory and how you will get back after midnight.