Dubai has a card made specifically for visitors with disabilities. It is called the Sanad Tourist Card, Dubai’s tourism body publishes the instructions for getting one, and the document it asks an Indian family for is a medical report or an official disability card from your home country.
Nobody in the booking chain will mention it. The instructions sit on Dubai’s tourism platform, the card is issued by the emirate’s social development authority, and the transport authority names it as the document a visitor needs for a free travel card. None of those three is a place an Indian family looks while booking a flight. It is also the instrument that decides whether your relative rides the Metro free and pays half fare in a taxi.
This page covers the whole journey: what you have to tell the airline and when, what each Indian airline actually publishes, what happens at Dubai International terminal by terminal, and which Dubai services reach a visitor rather than only a resident. Where a source is silent, this page says it is silent rather than filling the gap.
One thing to know before you start. The airport-side services at Dubai carry no published card requirement at all. City-side, the vehicles and the trains are open the same way, and it is the money that is card-gated: half fare in an accessible taxi and free travel on the Metro both run through a card. That split runs through everything below.
Start here, in this order
- Tell the airline when you book, because for assistance through the terminal it is the only channel Dubai International publishes.
- Check your own airline’s notice period rather than assuming 48 hours. The three whose pages can be read do not agree with each other, and one of them does not agree with itself.
- Start earlier if the wheelchair is powered, because battery paperwork runs on its own longer clock. Medical clearance is a separate process that applies only where an airline asks for it, and this page does not cover when that is.
- Carry the disability documentation you already hold in India. It is what the Dubai card asks for.
- Settle the Sanad Tourist Card before you fly if the applicant has been to the UAE before, because if they have not, the published route is to apply after landing.
- Do not plan around holding a card at the airport. No page retrieved for this article conditions airport assistance on one, and the card that matters is for the city.
The two definitions your booking rests on
India’s Ministry of Civil Aviation published a set of accessibility standards for civil aviation in April 2022. It sets out standard assistance definitions, and two of them describe the difference this whole article turns on. The document presents them as IATA assistance codes rather than as anything Indian, which is why they are worth using with a foreign carrier as well as an Indian one.
The document labels them WCHR and WCHC. WCHR covers a passenger who requires a wheelchair for the distance to and from the aircraft, across the ramp, the finger dock or to a mobile lounge. WCHC covers a passenger who requires a wheelchair to and from the aircraft or mobile lounge and who must be carried up and down steps and to and from the cabin seat.
Those are two different requests. The first is a chair across a distance. The second is people lifting a person. Naming the one that fits your relative, in a form or an email, says in four characters what a paragraph of description might not. What this page cannot tell you is what any particular airline does with either label, because not one of the airline pages retrieved here names them.
This page reports both definitions in its own words rather than quoting them. They come from the one document behind this article that was read through a summarizing retrieval and never re-checked, which is also why the revision date attributed to it in the next section is not in quotation marks.
The Indian leg, and an honest gap
India regulates this. The Ministry of Civil Aviation says so in a written reply to Parliament, and names the document:
“With a view to sensitise and develop awareness for assisting persons with disability or reduced mobility, DGCA has issued the Civil Aviation Requirements (CAR) Section 3, Series M, Part I titled “Carriage by Air of Persons with Disability and/or Persons with Reduced Mobility” which provides for conducting the training programme as per the module provided by Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, for all personnel of airlines, airport operators, security personnel, customs and immigration bureau organisations engaged in passenger services.”
That release is dated 1 August 2024, and note what it describes the requirement as providing for: a training program. It does not state a notice period, a wheelchair rule or a refusal-of-carriage rule.
Here is the gap, and this page is going to be plain about it. The text of that requirement could not be obtained for this article; the sources block at the end says what was tried. So nothing here is presented as the requirement’s own words, and be careful of any page that quotes it without saying where it got it.
One revision date is sourceable, from the Ministry’s own “Accessibility Standards and Guidelines for Civil Aviation”, dated April 2022, which gives the requirement as having been revised on 9 July 2021. It is not in quotation marks because it is the weakest citation on this page. Claims circulating about a later revision in 2025 come from a law firm’s social post and a mailing-list attachment, neither of which is a government source, and this page does not repeat them.
What the Delhi airport operator restates
Delhi International Airport publishes a passenger charter page on disability rights. It does not cite the requirement by number and carries no date, but it is an airport operator restating the Indian position, and it is the clearest public summary available. Its list includes:
“No airline can refuse to carry you along with your assistive aids/devices, escorts and guide dogs”
“You must notify the airlines about your needs at least 48 hours prior to scheduled departure time.”
“If you are assisted by an escort, the airlines shall make all reasonable efforts to give him/her a seat next to you.”
“If you wish to travel without an escort, you are not required to produce medical certificate or fill up special forms.”
“You will be allocated convenient seats and provided with all relevant and available assistive devices within India without any extra cost.”
Read three things in that list carefully. The 48 hours is an obligation on you, not on the airline. The escort seating is “all reasonable efforts”, which is not a guarantee. And the no-extra-cost promise is scoped “within India”, which is not the same as your whole journey.
The same page contradicts itself, and this page reports it rather than tidying it. It says no airline can refuse to carry you, and it also says that “If you are being denied carriage basis your disability, the airline must specify in writing the reasons for same.” Both sentences are on the same page. A rule that cannot be broken does not need a procedure for breaking it.
And the charter collides with an airline, on the question most families are actually worried about. The charter says no airline can refuse to carry you along with your escorts, and separately that “If you wish to travel without an escort, you are not required to produce medical certificate or fill up special forms.” Air India’s disability page lists four grounds on which it may refuse carriage, and one of them is that “Passengers with hearing or visual impairment, limited mobility and requiring a stretcher are not accompanied by an escort.”
Read the two together and they do not fit. The airport operator’s restatement of the Indian position says a passenger may travel without an escort and produce nothing extra to do it, and separately that no airline can refuse to carry you along with your escorts. The airline lists traveling without an escort among its refusal grounds for exactly the passengers this page is about. This article cannot tell you which prevails, because the requirement that would settle it could not be read. What it can tell you is to raise it at booking rather than at the gate, and to get the answer in writing, because the charter also says that a passenger denied carriage on the basis of disability must be given the airline’s reasons in writing.
What each airline publishes
| Airline | Advance notice, as published | Charge, as published | Your own wheelchair |
|---|---|---|---|
| Air India | “at least 48 hours before the scheduled departure time” on its wheelchair page. Its disability page says only “well in advance” and carries no hours figure at all | “Old and infirm travellers and those with a medical condition will not be charged for the wheelchair.” Free wheelchair use “in any class” | May be collected at the aircraft entrance and loaded in the hold. “You will get it back on arrival at the plane or in the arrival hall.” |
| IndiGo | “Book a wheelchair at least 48 hours prior to departure for a hassle-free travel.” | Not stated. Neither retrieved page says whether wheelchair assistance is free or charged | Ground staff “will provide assistance to dismantle and/or reassemble the wheelchair under your supervision”, and the airline disclaims liability for damage. Electric chairs are dismantled at check-in, and the airline says the customer will need to carry a battery terminal cap or an insulated box to seal the terminals and avoid damage |
| SpiceJet | 48 hours for groups of 10 or more. 72 hours for an Ambulift | Wheelchair service “at no additional charges”, with an attendant. The Ambulift is different: “Ambulift will be provided on chargeable basis, as applicable.” and “This facility is available in selective cities only.” | May be used “up to the boarding gate and/ or the aircraft door”, subject to airport permission. Wet cell batteries refused |
| Air India Express | Not retrieved. Its site would not serve its policy pages to any method tried for this article | Not retrieved | Not retrieved |
Read the Air India charge sentence for who it names. It says old and infirm travelers and those with a medical condition will not be charged. It states no charge position for anyone outside those two categories, in either direction. If your relative is a wheelchair user who is neither elderly nor unwell, the page does not cover them and the question is worth asking outright.
The IndiGo row is the one to notice. Two pages were checked twice each for any statement on cost, and neither carries one. That is not the same as the service being charged, and it is not the same as it being free. It means the airline has not said, and a family budgeting a trip is entitled to know that.
Air India publishes two different battery rules on two of its own pages. Its wheelchair page sets limits in three sentences: “A wheelchair or mobility aid battery must not exceed 300 WH.”, “For mobility aids powered by two batteries, each battery must not exceed 160 WH.”, and a spares allowance of one battery at up to 300 WH or two at up to 160 WH each. Read all three, because a chair running on two batteries is governed by the 160 rather than the 300. Its electric wheelchair page then says “When the lithium battery(ies) remain installed in the mobility aid, there is no Watt-hour limit”. Both pages were confirmed on two separate retrievals on the same day. One sets ceilings without distinguishing installed batteries from removed ones, the other says an installed battery has no ceiling at all and applies its limit only to removed and spare batteries. This page cannot tell you which governs your chair, so ask in writing and keep the reply, because the difference decides whether the chair flies. The battery rules that decide what travels in the cabin and what goes in the hold apply to a powered chair as much as to anything else you are carrying, and they are worth reading before you fill in a form.
The same airline publishes two different notice periods. Its wheelchair page says 48 hours; its dedicated disability page, which is where most people will land, carries no hours figure anywhere. Reading “well in advance” as though it meant 48 hours is assuming something the airline has not said.
SpiceJet publishes a caveat that matters for exactly this trip. After saying its own wheelchair service carries no charge, it adds: “Do note, wheelchair handling charges may be levied by the concerned airport operator or the handling agency at the international departure city.” Note the modal, “may” rather than “will”, and note that the sentence is about the departure city rather than about Dubai, which publishes one sentence on cost, “Services are free for people of determination”, with no condition attached. The two are not necessarily in conflict, but a reader who sees only the first will expect a bill that Dubai’s own page does not describe.
SpiceJet also contradicts itself inside one block, and here it is as printed, spacing and all:
“Passengers travelling with their own wheelchair differently-abled passengers may use their own manual or battery-powered wheelchair up to the boarding gate and/ or the aircraft door (subject to permission granted by the respective airport authority). SpiceJet allows only manual/ collapsible wheelchairs on all its flights. Unfortunately, battery-powered wheelchair(s) with a wet cell battery shall not be accepted since it’s corrosive in nature and is considered to be a ‘Dangerous Good'”
The first sentence permits a battery-powered chair to the gate; the second allows only manual or collapsible chairs on any flight. They are consecutive, and tidying them would hide the problem a passenger has to resolve at the counter.
On how many assisted passengers a flight will carry, none of the three airlines whose pages could be read publishes a cap. That is an absence of a published figure and nothing more. This page does not claim there is no limit, because no page says there is not one.
At Dubai International, terminal by terminal
Dubai Airports publishes a special assistance page. Its entire instruction to a traveler is two lines:
“Request special assistance”
“Get in touch with the airline for additional support”
That is the whole of it. No advance-notice period, no figure of any kind, no booking form. The airport routes you to the airline and publishes nothing you can act on directly. Every notice period in this article therefore comes from an Indian source, not a Dubai one.
The operator’s facilities page gives more, and the useful part is that it is specific about place. The services do not share a geography, and treating them as if they did is how a family ends up planning around a facility in a terminal they are not using.
| Service | Where the operator names it |
|---|---|
| Wheelchair assistance from the curb | Terminal 3 only |
| Wheelchair assistance from check-in counters | Terminals 1 and 2 |
| Assisted Travel Lounge | Terminal 2 only |
| Dedicated passport control counters | Arrivals and departures, all terminals |
| Dedicated customs counters | Arrivals and departures, all terminals |
| Buggy service | No terminal restriction published |
Here is the sentence that split belongs to:
“Departing guests: Assistance is available from the kerb (Terminal 3 only) or check-in counters (Terminals 1 and 2), through to the boarding gate. Guests are encouraged to request wheelchair support when booking their ticket, or at the airline’s check-in counter.”
The operator’s word is “encouraged”, and this page keeps it. Requesting assistance at booking is not published as a condition of receiving it, and anyone who tells you the airport requires 48 hours’ notice is importing a figure Dubai Airports does not publish. But read that as a description of what the operator publishes, not as advice about what to do. Request the assistance at booking anyway. The operator names no other route, and its own arrivals sentence is written for guests who have pre-booked.
For arrivals the operator says pre-booked guests “should make themselves known to dnata attendants at the arrival gate upon disembarkation”. Again “should”. If your relative did not pre-book, the page describes no separate route, and the practical answer is to ask at the gate.
The one assistance service published with no terminal restriction is the shuttle. The operator’s sentence is this: “A 24/7 shuttle service is available to support, offering priority access and helping Persons with Disabilities (PwD) move easily across terminals and concourses to reach their gates.” No terminal is named, no booking route is given, and “priority access” is not explained. It is the single most useful published fact for an elderly passenger facing a long walk between a gate and a concourse, and it sits awkwardly beside something else on the same page. “Buggy cars” also appear there in a list of what dnata’s mobility support “may include”, which is a permission rather than an entitlement. The same operator answers the question “How can I book a buggy?” on its questions and answers page by saying the service is subject to availability and needs to be booked by the airline or the service provider, which is a third framing again. This page does not claim all three sentences describe the same vehicle, because none of them says so. What it can say is that one page describes a shuttle as available, another puts a similar thing inside a “may include”, and a third routes it through the airline. It notes that one describes a shuttle as available and the other puts a similar thing inside a “may include”. Ask the airline, which is the booking channel the operator names for everything else.
The assistance itself is contracted to dnata, whose team the operator describes as “trained and certified to provide mobility assistance in line with the US Air Carrier Access Act (ACAA) standards”, with support that “may include the use of manual wheelchairs, leg support, infant safety belts and buggy cars”. If a passenger checks in their own wheelchair, “it will be appropriately tagged and a dnata wheelchair will be provided for use throughout the airport journey”. The operator even publishes the equipment sizes, listing conventional wheelchairs in three widths, 18, 22 and 24 inches, and a STAXI with a baggage stowage area beneath it.
On medical transport, the routing is the same as everything else. The operator says dnata provides transportation for guests requiring medical assistance, with medical escorts, between the airport medical centers, and then tells you to contact your airline to arrange it. It names the Dubai Corporation for Ambulance Services as covering both airports, and publishes no more than that on the Dubai International page, although its Al Maktoum page carries an emergency number. The medical transport is not something you book directly: the operator tells you to contact your airline for it. Neither service covers what happens once you leave the terminal. Which clinic to walk into in Dubai and how the bill is settled is the question that starts the moment you are through the doors.
The passport control lane, which carries no card requirement
“People of Determination (PwD) can access dedicated passport control counters operated by the General Directorate of Identity and Foreigners Affairs (GDRFA), where trained employees are available to assist guests with physical or hearing impairments.”
Departures: “Guests using wheelchairs will be escorted through the lane by an airport attendant.” Arrivals: “Airport employees are on hand to guide PwD guests to the dedicated lane, with signage in place to support easy navigation.” Location: “Arrivals and Departures at all terminals in DXB and DWC.”
No card is named. No residency test is named. No eligibility document is named. Each stage of arrival at a UAE border post is set out separately, and the dedicated lane sits inside that sequence rather than replacing it.
Dubai Customs runs the same pattern: dedicated counters staffed for PwD guests, in arrivals and departures at every terminal, with a published landline and duty officer number.
The Assisted Travel Lounge, and what the announcement does not say
Dubai Airports opened what it called its first Assisted Travel Lounge in September 2024, and it is in Terminal 2. The release describes a facility “designed to comprehensively address the diverse needs of People of Determination (POD), including those with autism and hidden disabilities”, with “designated wheelchair areas, tactile surfaces for easy navigation, dedicated seating for the hearing-impaired that facilitates face-to-face communication with employees, a decompression zone for individuals with autism, and a dedicated area for unaccompanied minors.”
Whether you can book it, whether it has capacity limits and whether a visitor qualifies are not stated. The 2024 release was searched directly for booking, capacity and eligibility and carries none of them. The 2025 release mentions the lounge again and adds nothing on any of the three. If your relative would benefit from a quiet room before a flight, and you are not departing from Terminal 2, the operator publishes nothing equivalent for you.
That terminal point is worth holding on to, because the same operator’s publishing is uneven elsewhere too. What Dubai’s airport publishes for a family, terminal by terminal reads several of the same operator sentences from the other side: it covers the baby care rooms, the play areas and the Smart Gates rules for children, and it is the page that sets out where a family without a disability is told these services do not reach them. The shuttle and the dnata equipment list appear on both pages for that reason.
If the disability is not mobility
Most of what is published at Dubai, and most of what any page about accessible travel tells you, is about wheelchairs. Here is what the same sources publish for everything else.
The operator’s accessibility release names “hearing loops installed across more than 520 touchpoints”, without saying which airport they are at, and a “Travel Planner, an online visual guide to help guests prepare for their journey”, which is the only tool named in that release for a passenger who wants to know what the place will look like before arriving. The dedicated passport control counters are described as staffed by employees trained to assist guests “with physical or hearing impairments”, which names hearing explicitly and names nothing else. The Assisted Travel Lounge in Terminal 2 is described as covering autism and hidden disabilities, with a decompression zone and seating for hearing-impaired guests arranged for face-to-face communication.
On the city side there is more, and it is set out in the Metro section further down, because it belongs to the trains rather than to the airport.
Two things are worth drawing out of all that. Most of the published provision for sensory disability is infrastructure rather than a service you can request, so there is less to arrange and less to rely on being arranged. And of the two things aimed at hidden disabilities, one is a lounge in a single terminal and the other is the Sunflower Lanyard, which this page cannot tell you how to obtain.
A note on the words
The operator’s own site uses two different terms. Its Dubai International special assistance page says that in the UAE “individuals with disabilities are recognised as Persons with Disabilities (PwD)”. Its Al Maktoum page still says People of Determination. Its own cost sentence says “Services are free for people of determination” on a page that otherwise says PwD. The transport authority, the taxi operator and the tourism body all say People of Determination. This page uses whichever term the source it is quoting uses, because changing them would misquote.
The Sunflower Lanyard, and the page that does not explain it
Dubai Airports describes a Sunflower Lanyard in a press release dated 6 October 2025 as “a discreet identifier that provides access to priority lanes and an autism-friendly route through the airport”. The release closes by telling readers, “For more information, visit dubaiairports.ae/hidden-disabilities”.
That page contains no information about it. Its entire substantive content is a heading and three navigation cards pointing to special assistance, transport options and facilities. There is no mention of the lanyard, no collection point, no terminal, no cost and no eligibility condition. The page the operator directs you to for more information has less than the release that directs you there.
So this page cannot tell you where to obtain one at Dubai, whether it costs anything, whether it must be requested in advance, or whether a visitor qualifies. None of that is published anywhere retrieved for this article. If the scheme matters to your family, ask your airline at booking and ask again at the assistance desk, and treat any blog that gives you a confident collection point as unsourced until it shows you where it got it.
The Sanad Tourist Card, the instrument built for visitors
This is the part that changes a trip.
Dubai’s Department of Economy and Tourism publishes, through Visit Dubai, the instructions for a card aimed at exactly the reader of this page. The card itself is issued by the Community Development Authority, which is a different body, and that distinction matters later. The description below is from the official how-to document rather than from the web page, and the distinction matters because the two carry different things:
“Tailored for tourists with disabilities, this special card unlocks exclusive services, privileges, and seamless access across government and private destinations throughout the city.”
The landing page puts it more simply: “Gain access and the freedom to explore Dubai with this special pass for People of Determination”, with a single call to action, “Apply via Dubai Now app”.
What you need
The document required is one line on the official how-to, and it names no country’s paperwork specifically. It asks for an electronic copy of a medical report or an official disability card from your home country, plus a passport-size photograph at 4 by 5 centimeters.
For an Indian family, this page reads that as your disability certificate or UDID card, or a doctor’s report. That is this page’s reading and not the source’s words. The document names no Indian instrument and no other country’s either. If your relative holds a UDID card, take a clear electronic copy. If not, take a medical report.
The process runs through the Dubai Now app: download it, log in through UAE PASS with a verified visitor profile, open the Sanad Tourist Card service, complete the form, upload the documents and submit.
The condition that decides when you apply
One sentence on the document settles the timing, and it is the one most summaries of the card leave out:
“You can obtain the Sanad Tourist Card from outside the UAE if you’ve visited the country at least once before, or you can simply apply upon arrival through the Dubai Now app.”
Read it against the person applying, not against the group. The document addresses “you”, and the condition it sets is that person’s own previous visit. If they have been to the UAE before, the card can be applied for from India. If this is their first visit, the published route is to apply after landing. The document says nothing about whether somebody else’s earlier trip helps, so this page does not tell you that it does or that it does not. It is a planning fact rather than a detail: a family that expected to arrive holding the card, and cannot, will pay full taxi fares for the first day at least.
The document says you receive the card within 24 hours, electronically, on the Dubai Now app and by email. It is valid for two months from the date of activation, which is generous for a holiday and useless for a second trip later in the year.
A second route and a second clock exist, and they do not agree with the first. Dubai’s taxi operator, describing the card it requires for its own discount, says you can apply “through the Community Development Authority website” and that “The process takes 2 to 3 working days”. The tourism body’s document routes you through the Dubai Now app and gives 24 hours. Neither source mentions the other. The tourism body is plainly describing the tourist card, since that is what its document is for. The taxi operator does not say which card it means, and the likeliest reading is that it is describing the resident card, which would explain the gap entirely. This page reports both rather than picking the convenient one, and notes that only the 24-hour figure is published about the card a visitor applies for.
What it is listed as unlocking
The English list on the official document carries five items: a parking permit for People of Determination, “50% discount on taxi fares”, “Free transportation via public transport”, “Free entry and discounts at top tourist attractions”, and exclusive discounts at malls, restaurants, pharmacies and telecom companies, naming Etisalat and du.
Two further items appear on the same document in Arabic only, and they translate as priority and discounts in health and medical services, and priority in obtaining government services. This page reports them as substance and does not quote them as English, because they are not printed in English.
The limits, and they are real
The card’s cost is not stated. The document was checked directly for any price, fee or statement that it is free, and it says nothing. So this page does not tell you it is free and does not tell you it is paid.
The benefits list comes from the tourism body, not from each provider. The taxi discount is corroborated by the taxi operator, which is the strongest of them. “Free entry and discounts at top tourist attractions” is a tourism-body summary of what many separate operators do, and no attraction is named. If a specific attraction matters to your plans, what each Dubai attraction publishes about its own facilities is the level at which that question actually gets answered.
The issuing authority’s own pages could not be reached for this article. The Community Development Authority would not serve any of its pages to any method tried. That the authority issues the Sanad card under Dubai’s Law No. 3 of 2022 on the protection of the rights of persons with disabilities comes from the taxi operator’s page, which describes the card and cites the law, and not from the authority itself. Everything above comes from the tourism body and from the transport side, which is a good deal but is not the issuer.
Getting around Dubai, and what is card-gated
Here is the split stated plainly.
| Service | What it provides | Is a card needed |
|---|---|---|
| Wheelchair assistance at the airport | Curb to gate, or check-in to gate, by terminal | No card published. Requested through the airline |
| Dedicated passport and customs counters | All terminals, both directions | No card published |
| Accessible taxi, the vehicle itself | A People of Determination vehicle, with or without a wheelchair lift depending on the request, bookable by app, call center or at the airport rank | No. The taxi operator says “All individuals with special need (People of Determination) are eligible to benefit from this service” |
| The 50 per cent taxi discount | Half fare on that service | Yes. A valid Sanad card |
| Free Metro and public bus travel | Free travel “using solely Dubai Metro and Public Buses in Dubai City”, in the transport authority’s words | Yes. Through a People of Determination nol card |
| The People of Determination nol card, tourist route | The card itself | Yes. “Sanad Tourist card issued by the Community Development Authority” |
| Free parking and Salik exemption | Vehicle concessions | Framed around Dubai vehicle permits. Nothing establishes they reach a visitor |
The taxi
Dubai Taxi describes its People of Determination service as a vehicle “equipped and designed with travel comfort in mind”, distinguishable by its size, red roof and a blue accessibility icon on the passenger doors and rear window. On who may use it, the sentence is unusually clean:
“All individuals with special need (People of Determination) are eligible to benefit from this service.”
No residency test, no card, no nationality. The card enters only for the money: “People of Determination must present a Sanad card to obtain a 50% discount”.
The published fares start at AED 8 between 6am and 10pm, AED 9 overnight, with AED 2.19 a kilometer, and a higher structure at the ports, which includes the airport: AED 25 base and AED 2.36 a kilometer, plus Salik. The service can be booked through the operator’s app or call center, and at Dubai’s airport terminals the operator describes pick-up as processed instantly at the taxi stand.
One thing does not add up, and you should know about it before you rely on the service. The transport authority’s own page says the emirate operates five such taxis in total, around the clock, across the whole emirate. The taxi operator describes instant availability at three DXB terminals, Al Maktoum and Port Rashid. Five vehicles cannot plausibly do that, so one of the two pages looks stale. Neither carries a date, which is what makes it impossible to tell which from the outside. Book ahead rather than assuming a vehicle is waiting, and have a fallback. How a taxi and the Metro compare once you are actually paying for them is worth reading with that uncertainty in mind.
The Metro and the buses
The transport authority publishes 19 accessibility features on its rail network, and they are not all about wheelchairs. Alongside accessible ticket booths, designated wheelchair spaces in every carriage located close to the door, lifts sized for wheelchairs and parking near main station entrances, the list carries “Tactile floor paths to guide visually-impaired persons at rail stations”, “CCTV for hearing-impaired persons”, “Audio notices for visually-impaired persons” and audio-visual warnings at platform screen doors. It also carries “Toilets for the People of Determination”, which is the accessible-toilet commitment the airport side does not publish anywhere. How the network is laid out and priced is a separate question, but the accessibility provision on the trains themselves is documented in unusual detail.
The concession is narrower than people assume, and the authority’s own words set the boundary:
“People of Determination type of cards is provided for nol personalized cards holders only, whereby can transport for free using solely Dubai Metro and Public Buses in Dubai City.”
The operative words are “solely Dubai Metro and Public Buses in Dubai City”. Not the tram. Not the water bus. Not intercity coaches. Do not widen it, and be careful with the tourism body’s shorter phrasing of the same benefit, which does not carry the limit.
The authority contradicts itself on price, and both pages are its own. Its corporate page says the personalized People of Determination card “is worth AED 70”, the same as an ordinary personalized card. Its service page prices a “People of Determination Card (residents and tourists)” at Free, against AED 70 for a standard personal card. This page reports both and picks neither.
That service page is also where the tourist route is documented. It lists a People of Determination (Tourist) category, and the document it requires is the Sanad Tourist card. That single row is where free public transport is formally opened to somebody who does not live in Dubai. The taxi discount is opened by the same card through a different publisher, and the parking and toll concessions, as the next part of this section says, are claimed by one publisher and unaddressed by the other.
What none of it covers
Free parking, a special parking permit and the Salik toll exemption all appear on the transport authority’s page, and all are framed around Dubai vehicle permits issued under a 2008 law. The transport authority says nothing at all about visitors in that section. The tourism body does list a parking permit among the Sanad Tourist Card’s benefits, so the two are not simply silent in the same direction: one publisher frames the concession around a Dubai vehicle permit and the other lists it as something a visitor’s card unlocks, and neither explains how they connect. If you are planning to drive a hired car, treat it as unresolved rather than as settled either way.
Distances are the other thing to plan for. The station may be accessible and the last few hundred meters may not be shaded, flat or short. How far each Metro station actually sits from the door you are heading for is the difference between a workable day and one that ends early, and it matters more when somebody is pushing a chair.
What is not published
Nine gaps, each with what blocked it. The sources list at the end of this page carries three more.
The Indian requirement itself. The regulator’s portal would not serve the document. Nothing on this page is presented as its text.
Air India Express, entirely. Its site serves its help pages through an application that returned metadata and empty bodies to every method tried, so no notice period, no charge and no wheelchair rule was obtained. This page says nothing about what that airline does or does not allow, because it could not read the pages. If you are flying it, you have to ask, and this page would rather say that than guess.
Whether IndiGo charges for wheelchair assistance. Two pages, checked twice each. Neither says.
Any per-flight limit on assisted passengers. Not published by any airline whose pages could be read. That is silence, not permission.
How the cross-terminal shuttle is obtained. The operator publishes that a 24/7 shuttle exists, offers priority access and moves guests across terminals and concourses. It does not say which terminals, how it is booked, or what “priority access” means in practice.
How a visitor actually obtains the People of Determination nol card. The transport authority publishes that the tourist category exists and that the document it needs is a Sanad Tourist card. It does not publish, on any page retrieved here, where a visitor goes to apply for the nol card itself, whether that is a counter, an app or a station machine. The card is the thing that delivers the free travel, so this is the one missing link in the chain this page builds, and it is missing from the source rather than from this page.
Where to get a Sunflower Lanyard, what it costs and who qualifies. The operator’s own information page carries nothing about the scheme it points you to.
Whether the Assisted Travel Lounge can be booked, how many it holds and who may use it. Two press releases mention it. Neither says.
Accessible toilet locations at Dubai International. The word “toilets” appears once across the Dubai Airports pages retrieved for this article, inside a general sentence about inclusive design that also names parking, elevators, “travellators”, lounges, trains, seating, prayer rooms, loading bridges, bus transfers and baggage collection. No locations, no per-terminal list, nothing to plan against.
One related subject sits elsewhere on purpose. The charges that appear on a Dubai trip after the price is agreed is where the taxi surcharges and the tolls quoted above sit in a whole-trip budget.
Before you book
Five things, in the order they arise.
- Ask the airline in writing and keep the reply. Where two of an airline’s own pages disagree, the reply is the only thing you can hold.
- Give 48 hours as a floor, not a target. It is the figure the Indian side publishes. SpiceJet asks for 72 hours for an Ambulift. Air India says its medical officer takes a minimum of 72 hours to sanction a clearance request, in the cases where the airline requires one, which this page does not attempt to define.
- Settle the battery question early if the chair is powered. Air India publishes two incompatible watt-hour rules on two of its own pages. IndiGo dismantles electric chairs at check-in and tells customers they will need to bring a battery terminal cap or an insulated box to seal the terminals. SpiceJet refuses wet cell batteries outright. Each of those is a different thing to do before you leave home.
- Find out which Dubai terminal you land in and leave from, because curbside assistance is published for Terminal 3 only and the assisted lounge for Terminal 2 only.
- Check whether the person applying for the Sanad Tourist Card has been to the UAE before, and allow time for the nol card as well. If so, apply for the Sanad card from home. The free-travel card is a second application on top of it, and no page retrieved here says where a visitor makes it, and the authority says only that it will dedicate counters to People of Determination at its key customer service centers, so a center is this page’s suggestion of where to ask rather than anything the source states. Do not assume the free-travel card arrives with the Sanad one. If not, plan to apply on arrival and budget full fares for the first day, which is what the tourist card’s own 24-hour delivery figure implies, and allow longer if you can, because the taxi operator quotes two to three working days for a Sanad card without saying which one. Either way the card is for the city, not the terminal: no Dubai Airports or border page retrieved here conditions its assistance on holding one.
If the whole arrangement is more than you want to assemble from a dozen pages across ten publishers, a Dubai family holiday with the transfers and the rooms settled in advance moves the coordination to one place, which changes who you call when a wheelchair does not arrive at the gate.
Planning a Trip to Dubai?
If you’re an Indian traveller based in one of the cities listed below — or nearby — check out our Dubai Tour packages from India by clicking the link for your city.
- Dubai Tour Packages from Rajkot
- Dubai Tour Packages from Visakhapatnam
- Dubai Tour Packages from Vijayawada
- Dubai Tour Packages from Vadodara
- Dubai Tour Packages from Trivandrum
- Dubai Tour Packages from Trichy
- Dubai Tour Packages from Surat
- Dubai Tour Packages from Pune
- Dubai Tour Packages from Nagpur
- Dubai Tour Packages from Mumbai
- Dubai Tour Packages from Lucknow
- Dubai Tour Packages from Kolkata
- Dubai Tour Packages from Kochi
- Dubai Tour Packages from Kerala
- Dubai Tour Packages from Kannur
- Dubai Tour Packages from Jalandhar
- Dubai Tour Packages from Indore
- Dubai Tour Packages from Hyderabad
- Dubai Tour Packages from Guwahati
- Dubai Tour Packages from Goa
- Dubai Tour Packages from Delhi
- Dubai Tour Packages from Coimbatore
- Dubai Tour Packages from Chennai
- Dubai Tour Packages from Calicut
- Dubai Tour Packages from Bhopal
- Dubai Tour Packages from Bangalore
- Dubai Tour Packages from Amritsar
- Dubai Tour Packages from Ahmedabad
- Dubai Tour Packages from Jaipur
- Dubai Tour Packages from Chandigarh