Baggage Allowance on India to Dubai Flights, Airline by Airline

October 12, 2026

There is no single “Dubai baggage allowance”. The same airline can sell you a fare with no checked bag at all and another with 35 kg on the same route, and an infant on one airline gets 10 kg of their own while on another the infant’s extra 10 kg has to travel inside a parent’s bags. This page sets out what Emirates, flydubai, Air India, Air India Express, IndiGo, Air Arabia and SpiceJet publish for flights from India to Dubai and the other UAE airports, where their own pages disagree, and what to check on your booking before you pack.

If you are still choosing a flight, the Indian cities with nonstop Dubai flights is the place to start; this page begins once you know who you are flying with.

We read every airline’s own pages on Oct. 1, 2026. Most of them carry no date, several contradict themselves and some route-specific figures are not on any public page we could read, which leaves your booking as the place to check. Each airline section names the gap and where your own figure will show.

Every figure below depends on four facts printed on your e-ticket or in the airline’s “Manage booking” page:

  1. The airline that operates each flight, not only the one that sold the ticket.
  2. The fare family, such as Saver, Value, Lite or Flex. This decides more than the airline does.
  3. The cabin: Economy, Premium Economy, Business or First.
  4. Whether every flight is on one booking reference (PNR). This decides what happens to your bags on a connection.

Your booking also shows the allowance itself, usually as a weight (for example 20 kg) or as a number of pieces, shown as PC. flydubai, for one, adds “Baggage allowance may vary by route.” under its Value and Flex figures, so the number on your booking is the one to pack to. When your booking and a general web page disagree, ask the airline which applies before you pack, and keep the answer in writing. Use this page to understand the number and to spot what the booking does not say.

Economy fares only, as read on the airlines’ own pages on Oct. 1, 2026. The airline sections below carry the other cabins and the conditions.

AirlineChecked bag, by fareCabin bagInfant (under 2)Watch for
EmiratesSpecial 20 kg, Saver 25 kg, Flex 30 kg, Flex Plus 35 kg7 kg; one piece when boarding in India10 kg checked plus a 5 kg bag32 kg per bag
flydubaiLite none; Value 20 kg and Flex 30 kg, both “may vary by route”7 kg, personal item inside it10 kg checked plus 5 kg, if your fare includes baggageNo India figure on pages we could read; check your booking
Air IndiaValue 25 kg, Classic 30 kg, Flex 35 kg7 kg plus a 3 kg personal item10 kg in Economy (its pages conflict)32 kg per bag
Air India ExpressLite none. Its global page shows Value 30 kg and Flex 35 kg (lower “on select routes”); its India page shows 15 kg and 20 kg. Your booking decides7 kg across one bag and a personal itemAn extra 10 kg, packed in the adult’s bagsNo published India-to-UAE figure
IndiGo30 kg on standard fares; Lite none7 kg plus a 3 kg personal itemNo checked bag; an extra 7 kg cabin bagPer-bag limit conflicts (23 or 32 kg)
Air ArabiaBasic chargeable; Value “20/30Kg”; Ultimate “30/40Kg”7 kg plus a 3 kg personal itemAn extra 3 kg bagIndia figure not stated; its route map lists Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Ras Al Khaimah, not DXB
SpiceJet30 kg in two pieces (Dubai, Sharjah, Fujairah)7 kg, laptop and purse includedAn extra 7 kg cabin bagSource site undated; check the flight is running

This table does not rank anyone. A Flex fare on one airline and a Lite fare on another are different products, and comparing them tells you about the fares, not the airlines.

What “30 kg” on your ticket can mean IATA definitions (2020 guidance) and airline baggage pages, checked Oct. 1, 2026. Your booking shows your own figure. Weight concept: a total in kg Shown as a weight on the ticket, e.g. 20 kg 15 kg 15 kg Two bags, 30 kg in total: fits 30 kg One 30 kg bag: fits only if the per-bag cap allows it Per-bag caps published: 32 kg: Emirates, flydubai, Air India, Air Arabia, SpiceJet IndiGo: 23 kg on one page, 32 kg on another Air India Express: two free pieces; no kg cap on pages read flydubai: up to 3 pieces; extra pieces cost a handling fee Piece concept: a number of bags Shown as PC on the ticket; each piece has its own limit 1 PC 1 PC Each bag within its own limit overlimit Spare weight in one bag does not cover another Emirates applies the piece concept only on flights to and from the Americas and Africa, so an India–Dubai Emirates ticket uses the weight concept. Size counts too: 203 cm per bag (length + width + height) on Emirates and flydubai; 158 cm on IndiGo, SpiceJet and Air Arabia. Paying for excess weight does not make a bag over the per-bag cap acceptable.

Weight or pieces

IATA, the airlines’ trade body, describes two systems in its 2020 interline baggage guidance. Under the weight concept, the allowance is “the total weight of checked-in baggage, which is shown as a weight amount on the ticket (e.g. 20 kg or 45 lb)”. Under the piece concept, it is “the number of pieces of checked-in baggage (shown as PC on the ticket)”. Airlines then set a weight limit for each piece.

Every India–UAE allowance on this page is quoted in kilograms. Emirates, for example, applies the piece concept “only on flights to and from the Americas and Africa”, so an India–Dubai Emirates ticket uses the weight concept. If your Emirates ticket continues from Dubai to Africa or the Americas, check which system the whole ticket uses.

A weight allowance still has a per-bag cap

“30 kg” does not mean one 30 kg bag is always fine, and it does not mean unlimited bags. Each airline caps a single bag, and some cap the number of bags:

  • Emirates, flydubai, Air India, Air Arabia and SpiceJet cap a single checked bag at 32 kg. flydubai’s allowance covers up to three pieces; a fourth or later piece costs a one-time handling fee.
  • IndiGo’s own pages give two different caps: 23 kg per piece on its baggage allowance page and 32 kg on its baggage policy page. Until IndiGo aligns them, pack to 23 kg a bag or ask before you fly.
  • Air India Express gives two free pieces but publishes no per-bag kg cap on the pages we read.

Size matters too. Emirates and flydubai cap each bag at 203 cm (length plus width plus height); IndiGo, SpiceJet and Air Arabia at 158 cm.

Cabin bag and personal item

Airlines treat the laptop bag or handbag differently. Air India, IndiGo and Air Arabia allow a small personal item in addition to the 7 kg cabin bag, up to 3 kg. flydubai, Air India Express and SpiceJet count it inside the 7 kg. Emirates publishes no separate personal-item allowance for Economy, and for passengers boarding in India it allows “one piece of carry-on baggage” no larger than 115 cm in Economy and Premium Economy.

Indian airports add their own line. Delhi Airport says passengers “are allowed to bring only one handbag or cabin bag onboard” according to the airline’s rules and government guidelines, and Mumbai Airport mentions “only one handbag weighing a maximum of 7 kg”. Neither page says whether a laptop bag or handbag counts as that one bag, so keep the personal item small enough to fit under the seat.

Cabin and fareChecked allowanceCabin allowance
Economy Special20 kg7 kg, 55 x 38 x 22 cm
Economy Saver25 kg7 kg
Economy Flex30 kg7 kg
Economy Flex Plus35 kg7 kg
Premium Economy35 kg10 kg
Business40 kg7 kg bag plus a 7 kg briefcase or garment bag
First50 kgSame as Business

Each checked bag must weigh no more than 32 kg and measure no more than 203 cm. Emirates applies its India rule, one cabin piece of up to 115 cm, to Economy and Premium Economy only. Which cabins fly on your particular India route is something to check when you book; we did not confirm it route by route.

Infants. Emirates says infants “have a baggage allowance of up to 10kg (22lb)”, plus “one handbag for inflight necessities and infant food” of up to 5 kg. You can take one of a collapsible stroller, a carry-cot or an infant car seat on board free “if space is available”; if there is no space, the stroller or carry-cot goes in the hold. A car seat that needs its own seat means buying that seat at the child fare. Emirates does not say whether a checked stroller counts against the infant’s 10 kg.

For the airport end of the trip, the family facilities at each DXB terminal covers what the airport offers families on arrival.

Extra baggage. Emirates sells extra weight online in 5 kg blocks up to 50 kg, until four hours before departure, and says you “Save up to 45%” against the airport rate. That applies only to tickets issued by Emirates (numbers starting 176) on flights Emirates operates and markets.

Duty-free. Emirates allows duty-free purchases “in reasonable quantities for all service classes”.

Other airlines and separate tickets. On separate tickets, Emirates says bags may or may not be checked through, depending on the ticketing and airport systems. Emirates also says that on sectors operated by other airlines, “different baggage rules may apply for these sectors”. With flydubai, on a codeshare ticket, “Emirates baggage allowances and charges (where applicable) will apply for the full journey”, including a first sector on flydubai.

At Dubai, for the trip home. Emirates and Dubai Airports both say bags need a flat surface. Emirates says round or irregular parcels and bags with loose straps should be repacked into a cardboard box from the wrapping kiosks before check-in.

FareChecked allowanceHand baggage
LiteNone (“At a charge”)1 bag, 7 kg, 55 x 38 x 20 cm
Value20 kg, “Baggage allowance may vary by route.”1 bag, 7 kg
Flex30 kg, “Baggage allowance may vary by route.”1 bag, 7 kg
Business40 kg2 bags, 14 kg in total, 7 kg each

We found no India-specific figure for Value or Flex on the flydubai pages we could read, and its India-language pages did not load for us, so the number on your booking confirmation is the one that counts. Each piece must weigh “less than 32 kg”, with “Up to 3 pieces” and a maximum of 203 cm.

Hand baggage. Your personal item is part of the 7 kg: “A laptop bag, A small ladies’ handbag, A gentlemen’s satchel”, up to 25 x 33 x 20 cm. At the boarding gate, flydubai checks “All hand baggage, including duty-free purchases” and charges “AED 200 / USD 55 per item” if a bag is over the limit.

Infants. “If you’re travelling with an infant and your fare includes baggage, you can bring 5 kg hand baggage (must be under 55x38x20 cm) and 10 kg checked baggage for the infant.” flydubai does not say what an infant gets on a Lite fare, so check before you book Lite with a baby. One fully collapsible stroller travels free “as part of your checked baggage allowance” when the child is on the same booking. A car seat for an infant under 2 needs a separate seat “at the full child fare”.

Extra baggage. flydubai says buying online is “Up to 70% cheaper” than at the airport, through Manage booking up to six hours before departure. Its airport rate table, dated Sept. 29, 2026, charges AED 50 per kg from Dubai to its Indian airports, which is the rate that matters on the way home.

Connections. On one Emirates-and-flydubai booking, bags are “tagged through to your final destination”. On separate flydubai bookings, tell check-in you are connecting in Dubai and show the onward ticket, and flydubai says your bags will be tagged through. With other airlines, “your baggage handling may vary depending on the carrier.”

Air India

Air India publishes a row for flights between India and the Gulf and Middle East, which covers Dubai. If you are flying from the capital, the airlines and flight times on the Delhi–Dubai route sets out who else flies it.

Cabin and fareChecked allowanceCabin allowance
Economy Value25 kg7 kg
Economy Classic30 kg7 kg
Economy Flex35 kg7 kg
Premium Economy Value25 kg7 kg
Premium Economy Flex35 kg7 kg
Business Value40 kg10 kg
Business Flex45 kg10 kg
First45 kg10 kg

“The maximum weight permissible for a single piece of baggage is 32 kg/70 lb.” Air India’s pages give three combined-size figures for an Economy bag (271, 272 and 273 cm) and 158 cm for Business and First, and its oversize rule also names 158 cm. Keep each bag within 158 cm (length plus width plus height) if you can, and ask Air India before you check a larger one.

Cabin. The cabin bag can measure up to 55 x 40 x 20 cm. You may add one personal item, such as a handbag or a laptop bag, of up to 3 kg and 40 x 30 x 20 cm, and Air India lists “A small amount of duty-free goods” among personal items.

Infants. Air India’s Gulf page, infant page and FAQ give an infant 10 kg in Economy, 12 kg in Premium Economy and 15 kg in Business and First. Its main baggage page, in its section on journeys involving other airlines, says 10 kg “in all classes”. On an Air India-only ticket, the class-wise figure is the one its Gulf page gives “on all our flights”; confirm it on your booking.

Infant cabin items can total 5 kg. Infants get “one collapsible stroller/carrycot/infant car seat”, but Air India says “We do not allow strollers on the flight”, so expect to check it in; ask whether it counts against the infant’s allowance.

Children. Air India’s FAQ says children “are allowed to check in the same amount of baggage as any adult passenger on that flight”.

Extra baggage. Air India’s excess baggage page lists USD 17 per kg on its weight-concept row covering India and the Middle East (the row’s label varies between readings, so confirm the rate when you pay), and says you can “Save up to 20%” by prepaying, up to two hours before departure.

Connections. “Passengers flying on Air India domestic or international sectors on the same ticket will have the baggage allowance of the international sector applied.”

Whether the bags go through is less settled. Air India’s customs and baggage transfer page, using Delhi as its example, says “You won’t need to collect your check-in baggage in Delhi.” Its Easy Connect page, which promises “Your checked baggage goes straight to your final destination”, sets conditions: flights from Varanasi, Amritsar or Ahmedabad, an AI 11XX flight number and four hours or less between flights.

Neither page says how the two fit together, and Delhi Airport’s own instructions begin with collecting your bags when the domestic flight lands outside Terminal 3. Ask at your first check-in desk whether your bags are tagged to Dubai, and read the tag.

Air India Express

Air India Express publishes its allowances by fare, and the India-facing and global versions of its booking page do not match.

FareInternational check-in (global booking page)Cabin
Xpress LiteNone; 20 kg can be bought at a discount on international routes7 kg
Xpress Value“30 kg (20 kg on select routes)”7 kg
Xpress Classic30 kg (20 kg on select routes)7 kg
Xpress Flex“35 kg (25 kg on select routes)”7 kg
Xpress Biz40 kg7 kg

The airline does not say which routes are “select routes”, and its UAE page states these figures for flights “from the UAE to India”. Its India booking page shows 15 kg on Value and Classic and 20 kg on Flex, under a heading that covers “Domestic & International Flights” without saying which applies where. Check the figure in your own booking; do not assume 30 kg.

Pieces and cabin. “Guests are entitled to two pieces of complimentary checked-in baggage.” Every passenger gets 7 kg of cabin baggage “covering one bag plus one personal item”. Its Xtra Carry-On page describes the standard allowance differently, as “One (01) unit of cabin baggage” of up to 7 kg including a laptop and personal items, so if you plan to carry a second small bag, confirm it at check-in. The paid Xtra Carry-On raises that to two pieces “not exceeding 12 kg”.

Infants. “For bookings made for infants, 10 kg of check-in baggage is permitted. However, this additional 10 kg must be included within the check-in baggage of the accompanying adult and cannot be carried as a separate bag.” Read together, this means a parent with a 30 kg allowance and an infant can pack up to 40 kg into the adult’s bags, but cannot check a separate baby bag.

Strollers “may be checked in free of charge” and “can be used till the boarding gate”, and a pocket or foldable stroller can go in the cabin if it fits the cabin allowance. Air India Express says perambulators are not allowed on board, and a car seat needs a purchased seat.

Extra baggage. Prepaid excess comes in slabs of 5, 10, 15 or 25 kg, up to two hours before departure. Air India Express keeps its prices in a fees document we could not read.

Connecting to another airline. Its “International Connections Baggage” add-on sells 8, 15 or 30 kg for a domestic Air India Express flight that connects to or from another airline’s international flight within 24 hours, and you must show your original boarding pass and international travel documents.

Connecting on Air India Express itself. We found no Air India Express statement, on the pages we read, on whether a domestic Air India Express flight on the same booking gets the international allowance or whether bags are checked through to Dubai. Ask at your first check-in desk and read the destination on the bag tag.

IndiGo

FareChecked allowance to the UAECabin
Standard fares (Regular, Return, Family, Flexi, Sale and others)30 kg to Dubai, Sharjah, Abu Dhabi, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah7 kg, 115 cm, plus a 3 kg personal article
IndiGo UpFront35 kgAs above
Super 6EThe standard allowance plus 5 kg “per passenger per sector”As above
LiteNone included; up to 20 kg in two pieces can be bought7 kg
IndiGoStretch (Delhi–Dubai and Mumbai–Dubai)IndiGo’s pages give two sets of figures; check at booking12 kg, one piece

Among Dubai routes, IndiGo’s Stretch page lists only Delhi–Dubai and Mumbai–Dubai; the carriers that fly Mumbai to Dubai shows who else flies the Mumbai one.

The cabin bag can measure 55 x 35 x 25 cm, and the personal article can be “ladies’ purse or a small bag containing laptop”, up to 3 kg. Checked bags can measure up to 158 cm, and the per-bag cap conflicts between 23 kg and 32 kg, as noted above. Lite is “not available for infants”.

Infants. IndiGo gives an infant no checked allowance on international flights. The accompanying adult gets “an additional piece of Hand Baggage”, within the 7 kg and 115 cm limits, and “One stroller or baby pram per infant is allowed without any charge.”

Extra baggage, India to Dubai. IndiGo’s fees page lists these prepaid prices from India to Dubai:

Extra weight, prepaidPrice (INR)
3 kg3,500
5 kg5,900
10 kg11,900
15 kg17,800
20 kg23,800
25 kg29,700
30 kg35,600
40 kg47,500

At the airport, the same page charges INR 1,500 per kg. An extra piece costs INR 3,000 prepaid or INR 3,400 at the airport. Another IndiGo-hosted copy of its excess page carries an older-looking table with different prices, and IndiGo’s pages give both two and four hours as the prepaid cut-off. Buy early and check the price on the booking screen.

A worked example. On an IndiGo standard fare to Dubai, each adult may check 30 kg. If one of you packs 35 kg, the extra 5 kg costs INR 5,900 prepaid, or 5 x INR 1,500 = INR 7,500 at the airport; 10 kg over costs INR 11,900 prepaid or INR 15,000 at the airport. IndiGo does not say whether two passengers can pool their allowances, so weigh each passenger’s bags against their own allowance and each bag against the per-bag cap, then buy any extra before you leave home.

Connections. IndiGo’s connection rules need the most care:

  • “IndiGo’s free baggage allowance for international sectors will apply only to bookings made on a single PNR.”
  • “The option for through check-in is not available for international connecting flights even if the connection was made under a single PNR.” IndiGo’s domestic conditions of carriage also tell you to collect and re-check on domestic-to-international connections. Its baggage-transfer page, however, says that on a connection sold by IndiGo on one PNR, bags are “made available to the passenger at the final destination”. Until IndiGo aligns its pages, plan to collect and re-check, and ask at the first check-in desk where your bags are tagged to.
  • “IndiGo does not connect Checked-in Baggage to other airlines.”
  • On the way home, IndiGo says you must “clear customs at the first port of entry into India” and drop your bags at its domestic baggage counter, even when the next flight is also IndiGo.

Air Arabia

Air Arabia’s route map lists Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Ras Al Khaimah as its UAE airports, and its India flights page shows departures from Sharjah and Abu Dhabi, so check which UAE airport your flight uses.

Fare bundleChecked allowance (UAE flights table)Cabin
Basic“Chargeable”7 kg plus a 3 kg personal item
Value“20/30Kg”Same
Ultimate“30/40Kg”Same

Air Arabia does not say which of the two figures applies on India routes; check the figure on your booking. Each checked bag can weigh up to 32 kg and measure up to 158 cm. Its help pages say a 30 kg allowance can be split into two pieces, but its add-baggage page says 30 kg is “1 piece”, so ask before you pack two bags on 30 kg. The same help pages say a 20 kg allowance is one piece only.

Cabin. The cabin bag is up to 55 x 40 x 20 cm and the personal item up to 25 x 33 x 20 cm. Duty-free purchases are allowed “as long as the combined total remains within 10 kg”. A bag that is still too large at the gate can cost “AED 100 per piece”.

Infants. An infant gets “one additional small bag up to 3 kg for baby essentials”. On strollers, Air Arabia says you can use one “throughout the airport” and must “hand it over to our staff before boarding”, and that a stroller “is not included in baggage allowance unless submitted at the time of check-in along with other baggage”. Ask at check-in how your stroller will be counted.

Connections. Air Arabia’s conditions of carriage say it takes responsibility for an onward flight “with Air Arabia only within the same PNR”; a different booking or another airline is “a separate contract of carriage”.

SpiceJet

SpiceJet’s current baggage page could not be read on Oct. 1, 2026, so these figures come from its older corporate site, which carries no date.

RouteChecked allowanceCabin
India to Dubai, Sharjah and Fujairah30 kg in two pieces, each up to 32 kg and 158 cm7 kg, one piece

“Laptop bag, ladies’ purse, or duty-free shopping bags can be carried additionally, provided the total weight of cabin baggage does not exceed 7kg.” Passengers with infants may carry “an additional piece of hand baggage with maximum weight of 7 kg”.

Connections. International excess baggage for a connecting domestic SpiceJet flight “must be booked at least 24 hours prior to travel and is valid only for connecting flights operating within 24 hours of each other”. On international connections, SpiceJet tells passengers to collect bags at the transit point.

Is it flying? SpiceJet’s winter schedule lists Ahmedabad–Dubai, Amritsar–Dubai and Ahmedabad–Sharjah flights into March 2027. News reports in mid-September 2026 described delays and cancellations on its Gulf flights. News reports also mention Delhi–Dubai flights that the schedule we read does not list. Check your flight’s status before you count on it.

AirlineInfant checked bagInfant cabin bagStrollerChild with a seat
EmiratesUp to 10 kg5 kg handbagOne stroller, carry-cot or car seat on board if space; otherwise the stroller or carry-cot goes in the holdNot stated separately
flydubai10 kg, if the fare includes baggage5 kg, same conditionFree, “as part of your checked baggage allowance”Not stated
Air India10 / 12 / 15 kg by cabin (pages conflict)Items up to 5 kgOne stroller, carrycot or car seat; strollers not allowed on the flightSame as an adult, per its FAQ
Air India ExpressAn extra 10 kg, packed in the adult’s bags, not as a separate bagNot statedFree, usable to the gateNot stated
IndiGoNoneExtra 7 kg bag for the adultOne freeNot stated
Air ArabiaNot statedExtra 3 kg bagSee the wording aboveNot stated
SpiceJetNot statedExtra 7 kg bagNot statedNot stated

“Not stated” means the airline’s pages we read do not say. It does not mean the answer is no; ask the airline and get the answer in writing. For the rest of a baby’s flight kit, how much formula and baby food you can carry on board covers the feeds, and using a pushchair once you land in Dubai covers what happens to the stroller after the flight.

Infant definitions differ too. Air India counts a child “over seven days but under two years on the travel date” as an infant, and Emirates says anyone 2 or older needs a seat, including a child who turns 2 during the journey.

Too heavy. Every airline whose pages we could read charges for excess weight, and buying it before the airport is cheaper on every airline that says so: Emirates “up to 45%”, flydubai “Up to 70%”, Air India “up to 20%”. The only published India–Dubai prices we found are IndiGo’s table above, Air India’s USD 17 per kg and flydubai’s AED 50 per kg from Dubai to India.

One bag over the per-bag cap. Paying for excess weight does not make a 35 kg bag acceptable on an airline that caps a bag at 32 kg. Air India says a piece over 32 kg “will not be allowed”. Repack at the airport, or better, weigh each bag at home.

Too many bags. An extra piece is a separate charge. IndiGo charges INR 3,000 prepaid or INR 3,400 at the airport; flydubai adds “a one-time handling fee” for a fourth piece; Air India Express says you pay for an extra piece even after buying extra weight.

Too big. Oversize is its own category. Dubai Airports sends bags larger than 90 x 75 x 60 cm, or without a flat surface, to its oversized baggage counter after check-in.

Cabin bag too heavy. At the gate, flydubai charges “AED 200 / USD 55 per item” and Air Arabia says “a fee of AED 100 per piece may apply”. Others may move the bag to the hold or charge excess; none of the pages we read promises which.

A luggage scale and bags packed well under the per-bag cap avoid most of this. If you do pay at the counter, paying an airport charge by card or in cash covers the conversion cost.

Does a duty-free bag count? Usually, and each airline words it differently:

  • flydubai: “one duty-free shopping bag as part of your hand baggage allowance”.
  • SpiceJet: duty-free bags count inside the 7 kg.
  • Air Arabia: allowed if “the combined total remains within 10 kg”, which is the cabin bag plus the personal item.
  • Air India: “A small amount of duty-free goods” as your personal item, so inside its 3 kg.
  • Emirates: allowed “in reasonable quantities”, without saying whether it counts. Boarding in India, Emirates allows one cabin piece in Economy and Premium Economy, so leave room in that piece for anything you buy after security, or ask at check-in.

IndiGo and Air India Express publish no international duty-free rule on the pages we read.

Liquids. Delhi and Mumbai airports and Dubai apply the same core rule. Delhi Airport allows containers of “a maximum capacity of 100 ml”, up to 1,000 ml in a transparent, resealable bag. Dubai Airports allows containers of up to 100 ml, “a maximum of 10 containers, equivalent to one litre”, with “Exemptions … for medication, baby milk/foods, and special dietary requirements for use during the trip.”

Duty-free liquids. Delhi Airport says alcohol bottles in hand baggage “should be in STEB packaging”, a sealed security tamper-evident bag. ICAO’s guidance marks such bags “Do not open until final destination”. We found no official statement on how Dubai screens duty-free liquids bought at an Indian airport by a passenger changing planes there.

If you connect in Dubai, buy liquids in Dubai rather than in India; duty-free bought after check-in cannot go into a checked bag. On the way home with a domestic flight onward, you collect your bags at the first Indian airport anyway, and that is the point to move duty-free liquids into the checked bag before you check it in again.

Power banks follow a separate rule: the power bank limits Emirates, flydubai, Air India and IndiGo publish sets out how many each allows in the cabin and why none can go in the hold.

If you are packing medicines for the trip, which medicines need paperwork at the UAE border is worth reading before you pack them, and items UAE customs refuses at the border covers the rest of the arrivals list.

Will my checked bags go through to Dubai? Airline, airport and IATA pages, checked Oct. 1, 2026. A planning aid; confirm at your first check-in desk. Are all your flights on one booking (PNR)?Check the reference on each e-ticket No Separate tickets IATA: through check-in on separate tickets is prohibited unless airlines agree. Plan to collect, re-check and meet the second airline’s rules. Yes Which airline flies each leg?Each airline sets its own transfer rule IndiGo domestic + IndiGo international Most of its pages: no through check-in, even on one PNR; one transfer page says otherwise. Plan to re-check. Air India domestic + Air India to the Gulf, one ticket International allowance applies. Easy Connect names only Varanasi, Amritsar and Ahmedabad. Ask at check-in. Emirates + flydubai, one codeshare booking Tagged through; Emirates allowance for the whole journey. Separate flydubai bookings: tell check-in, show onward ticket. SpiceJet domestic + international Collect bags at the transit point. Changing planes in Dubai on separate tickets Clear passport control, collect bags, check in again: you need a UAE visa or Marhaba help at the transfer desk. DXB to DWC always means passport control and collecting bags. Every route: read the destination code on each bag tag at the first desk. Final airport on the tag: checked through. Connecting airport on the tag: you collect the bags there. On the way home, IndiGo and Air India say you collect bags and clear customs at the first Indian airport.

IATA’s guidance sets the starting point: “Unless subject to specific agreement between airlines, through check-in baggage on separate tickets is prohibited.” Then each airline adds its own rules.

Your journeyWhat happens to checked bags
Air India domestic + Air India to the Gulf, one ticketInternational allowance applies to the domestic flight. Air India says bags are transferred at Delhi, but its Easy Connect scheme names only three origin airports: ask at check-in and read the tag
IndiGo domestic + IndiGo to the UAE, one PNRInternational allowance applies. IndiGo’s pages conflict on through check-in; plan to collect and re-check, and read the tag
IndiGo domestic + IndiGo, separate PNRsDomestic allowance on the domestic flight; collect and re-check
Any airline + another airline, separate ticketsCollect, re-check, meet the second airline’s deadline and allowance
Emirates + flydubai, one codeshare bookingEmirates allowance for the whole journey; tagged through
flydubai + flydubai, separate bookingsTagged through if you show the onward ticket at check-in
Air India Express domestic + Air India Express to the UAE, one bookingNot stated on the pages we read; ask at check-in and read the tag
SpiceJet domestic + internationalCollect bags at the transit point

Changing planes in India. Delhi Airport says that on one PNR “your baggage is typically transferred automatically”, and on separate tickets you “Collect your bags on arrival and proceed for rechecking”, then clear immigration and security again. IndiGo is the exception to watch: most of its pages say there is no through check-in to international flights, even on one PNR, though one transfer page says otherwise. Allow time for a collection and a second check-in.

Changing planes in Dubai on separate tickets. Dubai Airports says passengers who do not need a visa, or who hold one, “will need to clear passport control, retrieve baggage, and check in for the connecting flight”. Most Indian passport holders need a UAE visa arranged before they fly. Dubai Airports names Marhaba Services at the transfer desk for passengers without a Dubai visa who need help transferring bags. Settle which applies to you before you buy separate tickets through Dubai.

A change between Dubai International and Al Maktoum (DWC) always means clearing passport control, collecting bags and taking a taxi or the Metro to Ibn Battuta, then the dedicated bus, so it needs a UAE visa too. A stop in Dubai on the way somewhere else sets out the transit visa an airline can sponsor and who qualifies for a visa on arrival.

The tag is the proof. At the first check-in desk, read the destination code on each bag tag. If it shows your final airport, the bags are checked through; if it shows the connecting airport, you will collect them there. A through tag does not cover customs on the way home: arriving from Dubai with a domestic flight onward, IndiGo and Air India both say you collect your bags at the first Indian airport and clear customs there. If a bag does not turn up, filing a claim for a delayed or missing suitcase covers the claim and its deadlines.

Check the allowance for the Dubai–India direction separately, and note three other things that change.

  • The airport rate. flydubai’s airport rate from Dubai to India is AED 50 per kg. If you expect to come home heavier than you left, prepay the extra weight online rather than at the desk.
  • Bag shape. Emirates and Dubai Airports require a flat surface, so pack shopping into a suitcase or a sturdy box, not a strapped bundle.
  • Indian customs. India’s Baggage Rules, 2026, notified as Notification No. 14/2026-Customs (N.T.), came into force on Feb. 2, 2026. The government’s release lists a duty-free allowance of ₹75,000 for residents and tourists of Indian origin arriving other than by land, and Rule 5 of the notification excludes infants from this allowance. India’s 2026 allowance for goods carried home from Dubai covers the gold limits and what the allowance includes. If you are claiming VAT back on Dubai purchases, validate the refund before you check the shopping in, because the goods may have to be shown.

How much baggage can I take from India to Dubai?
It depends on the airline, the fare and the cabin. In Economy, published figures run from no checked bag on Lite fares to 35 kg on several fares, including Emirates Flex Plus, Air India Flex and IndiGo UpFront; Air Arabia’s Ultimate bundle lists “30/40Kg” without saying which applies to India. Your booking shows your figure.

Is 30 kg allowed on Dubai flights?
On some fares. IndiGo’s standard fares, Emirates Flex, Air India Classic and SpiceJet list 30 kg, as do flydubai Flex and Air Arabia Value in some markets, without saying whether India is one; other fares list 20 or 25 kg, and Lite fares include none. A 30 kg allowance still has a per-bag cap.

Can I take one 30 kg suitcase?
Only if your allowance is at least 30 kg. Emirates, flydubai, Air Arabia and SpiceJet cap a single bag at 32 kg, so one 30 kg bag fits their per-bag rule. Air India’s maximum for any single piece is 32 kg, but some of its tables show a lower Economy piece weight without saying whether it applies to Gulf fares, so confirm before you pack one 30 kg bag. On IndiGo, one of its pages caps a bag at 23 kg, so pack two bags or ask first. Air India Express publishes no per-bag cap on the pages we read.

Does a laptop bag count as cabin baggage?
On flydubai, Air India Express and SpiceJet it counts inside the 7 kg. Air India, IndiGo and Air Arabia allow it as an extra personal item of up to 3 kg. Emirates allows passengers boarding in India one cabin piece in Economy.

Does my baby get a baggage allowance?
It varies: 10 kg on Emirates, an extra 10 kg packed in a parent’s bags on Air India Express, no checked bag on IndiGo, though the parent gets an extra 7 kg cabin bag, and a 3 kg cabin bag on Air Arabia. See the infant table above.

Will my bags go straight through to Dubai if I connect from another Indian city?
Not reliably. On Air India, on one ticket, one Air India page says you will not need to collect your bags at Delhi, but its Easy Connect scheme names only three origin airports. On IndiGo, most of its pages say no, even on one PNR, though one IndiGo page says bags on an IndiGo-sold connection go to the final destination. Ask at your first check-in desk and read the tag. On separate tickets, plan to collect and re-check on any airline.

What if my bag is overweight at the airport?
You pay the airport excess rate, which is higher than the prepaid rate at IndiGo, the one airline here that publishes both, and a bag over the per-bag cap must be repacked whatever you pay.

If you are comparing package quotes, ask which fare family the flights are booked on, because that decides the baggage. Trekhops’s own Dubai family packages, which are priced without international airfare, make the same point: if you add flights to one, ask us which fare and how many kilograms each traveller gets.

No more excuses – make your health a priority today

Get Started

Leave a Comment